Too many projects?

Oh the irony: I write a post about scheduling writing time so as not to feel guilty about writing … and then spend a couple of months doing just about anything except updating this blog! And, while I have two other blog-type projects (my column with Examiner.com and my occasional posts as a participant in The Missing Dwarven Phaser), they weren’t getting the love, either.

The fact is, I got a bunch done in those missing-from-my-blogs weeks: I edited a collection of my poetry, submitted both the collection and a bunch of individual poems to a handful of contests, did some reading and editing for friends, and at least thought a lot about the mid-grade novel I’m slowly working on.

I also produced art for the Sunday morning bulletin at my church for two different 7-week sequences, wrote call to worship and prayer text for 3 weeks, designed a summer adult ed sequence for the church, and wrote two sessions for that sequence (one already delivered to great acclaim and one to come next Sunday).

Plus, as weather allowed, puttered in my gardens. What with drought and hot weather, much more of said puttering has involved watering than in previous years, but the yard is looking distinctly not-dead despite everything. I count that as success.

Shiba inu lying in wait in a field of dandelions

When all else fails, I can recover creativity by taking out the dog and my camera.

So, to answer the question of the title, I’d say yes, I probably have too many projects going at once. But, while any one project may go a long time without progress, I always have something I can switch to if I get stymied by creative block. Maybe too many is a meaningless term and the question I should ask involves not how many but how: How do I balance all the projects so none get forgotten and I feel productive?

What about you? Do you focus on one or a very few related projects, or do you find that having a broader range of creative outlets keeps you … well, more creative?

About Susan NC Price

Writing coach Susan NC Price has been a poet all her life and an editor for half her life, but only realized in her late 30s that she enjoyed writing all sorts of prose as well. The twin epiphanies of word processing and realizing she no longer had teachers forcing her to use their style of outlining outlines contributed to her late-blooming love of writing. Susan has 1 prizewinning short story, 2 grown writer sons, 3 current e-newsletters she maintains and a host of writing projects to her credit. She's currently working to develop new writers through her coaching endeavor: re/Write: Scribbles to Stories (see Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/ReWrite-Scribbles-to-Stories).
This entry was posted in fiction, finding time to write, goal setting, nonfiction, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

